After You Shoot: Turning Your Photos Into a RealPlace!

Note: Before you take advantage of this tutorial, we recommended you at least skim "Before You Shoot", which will help you take pictures that make great Places.

Do not be intimidated by the length of this tutorial! It's very detailed, hopefully for your benefit. :-) Once you are familiar with the process, you can create small places in minutes.

When you have taken at least one set of eight images (one spot) and loaded them into your computer, this tutorial will guide you through creating your first Real Place. These are steps you will take.

  1. Upload your images
  2. Create a new place
  3. Sort your photos (by spot)
  4. Put your spots on the map
  5. Link your spots
  6. Set visitor settings
  7. Preview and publish

Note: This page is undergoing a major reconstruction. But go ahead and use it - it should still prove very helpful!

Upload your images

Create a new place

Once you've uploaded your files, you need create a "Place" to put them in. A place is made up of one or more related Spots (described below), and is simply the area you are showing the world through your pictures.

Sort your photos (by spot)

A spot is one specific location where you can stand and look around.

At this point you should have a bunch of images (at least 8) in your Unsorted bin, and your job is to sort them into their respective spots. If you shot them "in order" it will be very fast and easy, but even if you shot some of them out-of-order, you can take care of it here on this page.

Link your spots

Once you have placed all your spots on the map it's time to link them together. This defines where people can "walk" from spot to spot. The linking UI is fairly easy to use, but not easy to discover. Sorry about that, it will get better!

You have a lot of creative freedom in how you link spots together. For example, you are not constrained by distance or real-world objects. If you want to allow your users to walk through a wall or cross a chasm, you can do so. Do what feels right.

Visitor settings

First, you get to choose where visitors will start when they arrive at your place.


You also get to decide what the map looks like when users arrive at your place.


Congratulations! You've just created your first Real Place.

But before you start calling your friends...

Preview/Publish: test-drive and sharing

You've sorted, linked, located and saved. You're ready for action!
But... before sharing with others, you'll probably want to:

  1. Walk around your place to make sure it works just the way you like
  2. Select a thumbnail image to represent your place
  3. Add some descriptions, comments and/or questions
  4. Decide how you would like to share your place with other people

Preview/Publish is where you can do all of the above.


1) Give it a try - walk around!


2) Select a thumbnail


3) Descriptions and comments: "Plogs"

Descriptions and commentary about places helps bring them to life! Whether you're providing information about a facility, pointing out architectural features of a building, asking questions about hours of operation or a piece of artwork, it all helps make your place more interesting and rewarding for other people to visit.

Your overall place, and each separate view, all have their own individual comment streams, which we have nicknamed: plogs (place logs). Plog entries are called comments, and can be written by both you and your visitors. Place Comments contain information about the entire place, and View Comments contain information about one specific first-person image/view.

Below the map and first-person images you will see links called: "Edit Place Description" and "Add Place Comment" descriptions and comments

Both of these options allow you to enter information that will be visible to visitors of your place. A description is similar to a regular comment except:

  1. There is at most one single Description for each place or view.
  2. Descriptions can only be edited by the place creator (so no avatar).
  3. Descriptions are always displayed at the top, above all comments.

The main reason for descriptions is to give the place creator the ability to put a descriptive comment above everyone else's comments at any time. The intent of the comment stream is that it's a place where people can ask questions, make comments, and have a conversation. But there is always a spot "reserved" at the top for the place creator to describe the place or view.

The general process of adding initial comments is as follows: First, you should always enter at least a short description of your place in the Place Comments tab. Then, just walk around your place. As you see things of interest, enter view descriptions or comments, which will automatically be linked to the view you are looking at.

Descriptions and comments are immediately visible as soon as you enter them, and a count of how many comments exist for a given place or view is shown in the Place Comments / View Comments tabs. descriptions and comments

4) It's time to share! (Publish)

When you click "Save Place" on the Locate/Link page, your place is available to be viewed online, but only if you know the URL. If you wish to keep it "semi-private", you don't need to do anything else. Your place can be found at:

http://realplaces.com/place/(YourUserName)/(YourPlaceName)
i.e. http://realplaces.com/place/joe/BerryField

You can send this URL to friends, or use it to create a direct link from your own web site. Click "[show URL]" at any time for a reminder of the URL for your place.

Then with 1 click you can "publish" your place, and we really encourage you to do this with all of your places that are more than just testing or fooling around. Simply click the Publish button on this page, above the map. The status will change from a red "NOT published" to a green "Published", and the button will change from Publish to Unpublish.
publish your place

What does "Publishing" my place actually do?

Important: Publishing does not make your place immediately visible to all RealPlaces visitors. It does make your place visible to all users who are signed in and have opted to see new, unrated places. And anyone with an account can easily opt to see all such places and rate them.

As soon as your place has a RealPlaces community rating, it becomes visible to everyone, including guests and unregistered users. So it's important that as members of this community we look at other people's places and rate them!

Requiring a rating does two things:
- it helps us prioritize our search results
- it helps filter garbage from trivially entering the public data

If you have comments on this or any other aspect of RealPlaces, please go to the Learn->About->Contact page and send us feedback. Thanks!




Adding Zoomed Views

  (Optional)


How to create a zip file

When you have more than a couple photos, it's best to zip them together into a single upload. TIP: If you resized your images, be sure you're zipping the new, resized images and not the originals! (yes, this is a tip from experience!)

Mac OS X: Select all the images you wish to zip up, then ctrl-click (or right-click) on one of the files and a menu will pop up. In OS X 10.5 or 10.6 select "Compress [N] Items" (where N is the number of files you have selected). In OS X 10.4 select "Create Archive of [N] Items". A file called "Archive.zip" will be created in the same folder with the selected images.

Windows XP/Vista: Select all the images you wish to zip up, then right-click on one of them to bring up a menu. Move your mouse to the "Send To" menu item. Another menu will appear where you should select "Compressed (zipped) Folder". A special "zipped" folder will be created inside the same folder as your images. It will have the same name as the image file you right-clicked on. Uploading this folder on the RealPlaces Upload page will send all the enclosed image files at once.